poker vs chess (similarities)

Juan Oro

Juan Oro

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Since I started playing poker sometimes I heard players talking saying that poker and chess had something in common, but one depends a bit on luck and the other does not, both games need a mental ability and where it is also taken. the time for the player to make a decision, as well as in studying the opponents and their movements on the board.

In chess you are clearly seeing the movement of your opponent's pieces, but in poker you do not see the cards of your opponents until you show them if they want to do so in this case the poker player has to use his ability to try to deceive the another player and make believe that he has a better hand than his opponent, which we call bluff in order to try to win the hand.

The poker player has to decipher with intelligence and dexterity which cards his opponent carries, collect all the information since the hand began to develop and tell them about the other player if he is playing live.

Last edited by a moderator:
black and

black and

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
UA
Chips
I think poker and chess are actually very similar. First of all, both chess and poker can be considered a sport. Both of these games require good skill, experience, patience and concentration. It is also obvious that both chess and poker develop the player's logic and tactics well. And last but not least, poker and chess are a really effective and useful exercise for developing the thinking of an adequate person.

supernuts25

supernuts25

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
They may have some similarities but poker had way to much luck involved to be on a chess level in my opinion.
Chess is great though

Pokerstudy

Pokerstudy

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Poker is incomplete information under conditions of uncertainty.
Chess has complete information - all information is always present.