Poker Tracker - yes or no?

becomingpoker

becomingpoker

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I have been playing online for just over 5 years and have decided to take it more seriously and try to make some real money at it. I am currently grinding it out at 50NL and seem to be winning there.

I know that a lot of people use PT w/ HUD while they play and I feel like this is the basis for most of their decisions on how they play. If you took PT away from them they would be lost. But my real dilemma is that I think they have an advantage over me while we play because of PT. I'm not against programs like PT I just don't want myself to become dependent on it for my play.

So what should I do?

1- Buy PT, start to learn it and use it
2 - Continue to let people have an edge over me and continue doing what I'm currently doing
3 - Play at a site where PT doesn't work

PokerVic

PokerVic

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think people often confuse Poker Tracker with odds calculation software and the like. Yes, Poker HUD will show you stats on your opponents, but the same could be accomplished by keeping detailed notes on those you face. (although would be exceptionally time-consuming)

But, for the most part, PT is used far more for:
a) Finding holes in your game (ie, hands you play too strong or too weak)
b) Tracking your wins/losses (ie, which limits are most profitable/costly for you)
c) Providing neat charts to encourage (or discourage) you as you see your progress over time

Because all odds even out over time, a large database is the only real way to analyze your game. Going over how you played in an individual session can be useful, but might steer you in the wrong direction if you have an unusual run of cards.