Poker taught me...

D

DaHawk

Rock Star
Total posts
There is often a correlation between the rules we live by in life and the rules we play by in poker. What are some of the lessons you've learned in poker that you've applied to your life?

PatriceM915

PatriceM915

Visionary
Total posts
:rolleyes:Poker taught me to think before making a choice, more patient this poker taught me, I'm still learning and I have a lot to learn because I'm not perfect.:eek:

Juan Oro

Juan Oro

Visionary
Total posts
the patience to analyze and think calmly before making a decision, which in life has been like taking calculated risks, poker has been a game of decisions as in life itself.

D

David Gibson

Enthusiast
Total posts
I have been able to spot deception and misinformation. Likewise I have been able to see the truth too. Before, I don't know if I would have been able to rely the differences.

daddybrooks

daddybrooks

Rock Star
Total posts
Awards
Actually look at people. Pay attention to not only how they're feeling, but whether they're being natural or trying to project an image. Started playing poker when I was 14 (well over 30+ years ago) and haven't fallen for a fast talking scam artist since.

C

Cooking

Legend
Total posts
Awards
Poker taught me that patience is very important (and also in real life) and that without discipline you're never going to have success.

YuriSLopes

YuriSLopes

Rock Star
Total posts
Awards
Life is a game of incomplete information just as poker.

We not only need to make rational decisions in poker when we use the math to find odds, EV and so on, as we also need to be in tune with our emotional state at the felt cause we simply might loose money at it if we don't. And loosing money is painful. Heck, loosing is painful in life and at the game.

Not only that, we end up building a sort of an intuition from mixing these skills needed at the game and also in life.