Playing Poker Hours?

S

SRW954

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm new to poker and I'm finding that I enjoy tournaments. However, they seem to last so long! I have an amazing wife but I have found that finding time to play - especially because we are both home due to covid - has been difficult. As you know, it requires total concentration and while I can go in the office and shut the door, it seems so, I don't know, isolated? for like 5-6 hours or more at a time. I'm discovering that I'm really only able to do this like once per week when I would like to do it every day to practice haha. Anyone else run into this issue? I guess I could start playing cash games where I can come and go as I please...

S

successlaw

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You can choose hyper mtts which last 2 hours if you take it down...those may allow your sessions to last as much as you want

P

ph_il

Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
compromise with your wife for days you'll spend together and days you'll play poker. i'm sure your wife has some hobbies/interests of her own. explain to her why they could potentially take hours to complete. 1-2 days/7 days a week allocated to you playing doesn't seem to unreasonable. maybe don't isolate yourself when you play. yes, it requires concentration, but not to the point where you have to shut everyone out. you can still be present and be able to focus on your game. it might even get your wife interested and/or see how much the game means to you when she sees you play or can be there to support you when you do well/bad.

you could, if it's available, try sit in go mtts or small multi-table sit in go mtts of 18-180 players. another option is late registering into an mtt, which could shave off an hour or so of play time.

CERRATO505

CERRATO505

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
play at zoom tables so you play more hands per hour and you can leave whenever you want

Einer777

Einer777

Rock Star