Newbie Setting Poker Goals

B

Black Panther

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
G'day All

I am 25yo Male, from Sydney, Australia and I am new to Poker, and no, a Dingo did not eat my baby. I am also a newbie to poker.

I have been reading and reading and reading this forum, and it seems the more i read, the more i realise how much I don't know. Anyway, the other day, i felt i had done enough reading for a beginner and decided to get some experience on the cash tables. I had been playing online for play money to pick up the basics, however I understood that cash games are a lot different to play games.

Anyway, I outlayed $50 at Poker Room, and I have been playing for about a week, while making sure i continue to read and learn about the game. I get a 50% bonus on my $50, if i play a certain number of raked games. So when starting out, my initial goal was to try and earn this $25 bonus, prior to me going bust as a lot of newbies do.

So far I am over half way towards redeeming my bonus and I have fluctuated from being $20 behind, to $20 in front, to $10 behind where i currently sit. My aim now is to recieve my bonus while aiming to be at least square.

Is this a fair goal for a newbie? To redeem my first bonus and break square at the same time? Or is it just too easy? I think I have the drive to one day become a strong player, however I wanted to ease myself into it, in order to give myself the best chance, and set myself realistic goals and gradually build myself up over the years.

Any advice on what my goals should be as a newbie, would be much appreciated. Also if there is anything that you would have done differently when starting out, or if you had your time over again, I would love to hear about it.

If there is anything else you want to add, in order to put me in the best position to work out whether or not I have what it takes to be a strong poker player.

Cheers

Black Panther

T

tigertight

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips