Myths, Truths and Lies about Poker

J

Juli

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
"Don't play on Fridays"; "Avoid to leave the tables if you are winning"; "Run away from the tables if you are loosing";"Since I started studying my losses increased"; "The best proportion between playing and studying is about 40%/60%"; "You increase the chances to be a winner by playing a lot of tables at the same time"... and so on.. Everybody seems to have a great theory about the best way to approach Poker.

Let's discuss some myths, truths and lies about our favourite game!

ammje

ammje

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello, you are right, if you study, you will improve your game, and in the long term you will be a winning player.

greatgame230

greatgame230

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, I think that the examples you put in your post are not myths are how the players feel more comfortable playing at least I do not play at the tables on Sundays because it is simple I do not like to play that day, if I am losing in one table I look for another maybe it is cabala but it is a way to reset the mind and have it positive to play, I totally agree with you that studying is the best way to progress in poker and if I have a myth in poker is that every time I do a withdrawal I fall into a bad streak I know that this is a myth since it makes no sense but every time it happens I think the same

J

Juli

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, greatgame230!

All this are only a few examples, not necessarily my personal opinion. I am trying to introduce a topic about what people have heard and may influence to some extend in their game.

J

Juli

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, ammje!

What if the way you study is not what should be considered the right one? Then maybe the game deteriorate instead of improve? What do you think?
Hello, you are right, if you study, you will improve your game, and in the long term you will be a winning player.

ammje