Managing a bankroll

D

danman7373

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I've been playing online for about 4 years now, and have had some really good and really bad runs. When things are going well, I can slowly and methodically build my bankroll, constantly finishing in the money in tournaments and showing profits on the cash games. But most of the time, as soon as I hit a losing streak, I'll either play larger limits to win back my money, or if nothing else, stay at the same limits (putting a larger % of my bankroll at risk).

I know this problem is nothing new to the poker world, but I wanted to hear some strategies on how different people handle bad beats, losing streaks, etc and effectively build a bankroll by staying within certain limits (I've read and tried systems like Chris Ferguson's rules when he went from $0 to $10k). Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

K

Kennyseven

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Since I am mostly a tourny player, I will usually jump right to the cash game and just play rock soliid poker. I will sometimes also play 1 table sit and go to build my bankroll back up. I do occasionally tilt, but in a controlled way. Overbetting monsters and making people think I am on tilt, which I am but in a good way. I will also multi table to try and play out of a slump. Hope this helps....gl.

KingCurtis

KingCurtis

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
the biggest thing and what your problem was is actually getting up the strength to move DOWN in limits, no one wants to, and its not at all fun, but in order to not lose your BR you must do this, and you will actually feel better later by still having and maintaining a br!

PokerPete

PokerPete

RIP Logic And Sanity
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Here's a post that sums it up pretty well:

I depends on how much your BR means to you. If it would be a disaster to lose it and you cant afford to redeposit any times soon, then you would need very strict BR managment.