I...WAS...A...FOOL.....!

P

posiview

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, I’ve been playing poker for around 3 months now, mainly on-line, and enjoy it immensely!

Initially, I played ring games but soon moved to sit and gos ($1.00/$3.00). My playing style is tight/aggressive, but I'm not averse to quickly changing style during a tourney..

I read several books, checked out several websites and read numerous articles and bought Pokertracker.

Over a 2 month period, after checking my stats in Pokertracker, I noticed that I was on a steady, 45 degree, losing streak…

I had a good review of my stats in PT and noticed that around 95% of my losses were in the following arrears: big and small blind (over protecting); with pairs and high cards (hoping for trips/TPTK)

I took the necessary action to sort out my newbie errors and over a 7 day period went from a steady decline to a steady, but consist, levelling off of my bankroll.

Then….I stated to consistently, well almost consistently, getting money finishes…I felt FANTASTIC! I went from $4.75 to $56.00!

AND….THEN….IT….HAPPENED…:confused: :confused:

I had 2 games in $3.00 and lost both. I came away and went back at midnight when family had gone to bed.

I lost, lost and lost….:confused:

Reasons: I was tired, I was over-protecting my blinds (and loosing); and most significantly, to recovery my losses faster, I moved to the $6.00 SnG tables.

Yes, I lost and lost and lost…3 games in a row.

I felt really…really…stupid.

The only reason I stopped was that I, literally, fell asleep during a game!!

The morning after I was like a grumpy old man….I almost cancelled my membership to pokerstars and deleted all my software, hand histories…

Now, I still fell like a fool but realise that my losses/bad game-play are repairable.

I’m taking a week off and will read and regroup and start again.