Vlaad

Vlaad

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You want a step by step guide? :D

Just kidding, I reckon it develops like any other addiction. The more you do it, the more it becomes a habit, until it finally becomes an addiction. Some really big wins and/or personal problems certainly facilitate the development of a gambling addiction.

Phoenix Wright

Phoenix Wright

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You want a step by step guide? :D

Just kidding, I reckon it develops like any other addiction. The more you do it, the more it becomes a habit, until it finally becomes an addiction. Some really big wins and/or personal problems certainly facilitate the development of a gambling addiction.

+1 I've never been addicted to gambling, but I'm a University student majoring in psychology and this sounds correct. I think an even better way to phrase this is:

"How NOT to become addicted if you invest so much time into the game and trying to improve your skills..."

Addressing how I rephrased it, I believe the key is entirely your mindset. Having solid bankroll management and discipline is crucial. Bankroll management (or lack thereof) has made or broken more potential poker careers than probably any other factor - and yes that includes running into pocket Aces "that one time." :D

In my opinion, being prone to tilt and letting emotions get in your way makes you more susceptible to things like a gambling addiction; treating your bankroll and games more like a business with investments is more likely to keep priorities in order.

One last detail I'd like to add though: