Blew out my $50 account

L

light65536

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm not too happy now. I blew out my $50 account on poker stars. It lasted about 6 months and 5281 games. I spent $25 in rake and lost $25 to other players. I played only micro-limits .01/.02 and .02/.05.

I did very well at breaking even until my account dropped below around $35 and then I started playing worse. I was still able to win money heads up fairly easily. But, as I dropped to around $10 I decided to try a new strategy which was just to play the best hands and bring in $1 and multi-table before I only played single tables. This strategy seemed to work at the start and my theory was just bet all in on my best hands.

The results:

AK suited lost to pocket 5's. Pocket 5's are actually a favorite
QQ lost to K-10
JJ lost to Q7
JJ lost to pocket 3's
etc

I'm not happy at all that I blew out my account because I was sure I was a good poker player. But, now I am looking at my account 97 cents when I start with $50. I used to play over stacked which allowed me to intimidate other players but playing short stacked with the odds when they should have been in my favor just made me loose faster then ever.

The strategies that DID work better was to pick up pots nobody cared about, play loose aggressive against tight players, and to give impression that I played very tight aggressive. Also playing for straights worked well. I also had good results at .02/.05. It sucks. If anyone wants to grow a bankroll then my experience is that its way harder in practice then in theory. The bad thing is I won almost all the time I played heads up but can't win on a 9 player table for anything

F

feitr

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well short stacked strats have ALOT of variance, and so you need alot of buy ins. 10 buy ins and all you need is a bad run and you will lose your bankroll.