"Black Friday"

wagon596

wagon596

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
On April 15, 2011 the online poker Boom went to the Online Poker Doom. If you were not playing online before then you have no idea what you missed.

I've been playing online since 2004. I was discussing this with someone the other day. You like freerolls (I do) back then you could play 7 to 10 Forum and Affiliate freerolls a day. On the weekends even more. Wasn't unusual for me to have 4 or more different poker sites open at one time playing freerolls. The sites themselves had many free tournaments also.

Not only that, but tons of freeze out tournaments or tournaments with 1 hour late register , not 3 or 4 hours like now. Tournaments with no re-buys were available also. All these tournaments had all different levels of buy-ins.

So be grateful (I am) that CardsChat has stepped up and provides us with many free tournaments.

Take care !!!!!

MrPokerVerse

MrPokerVerse

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
That was bitter pill to swallow that day. Never got anything back from UB and AP. Wasn't until about 5 years ago the FT settled up. Really soured me with online poker. Never felt the same about it ever since that day.

Nice to see CardsChat doing things to thrive in what was a death sentence to majority of the forums. Nice post Wagon!

C

Cooking

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I have to say that online poker was so much better before black friday, a lot more players and better tournaments than today. I also used to play in several poker rooms at the same time, and there was a lot of good rooms (not like is today). After Black Friday, I even stopped playing online poker for couple of years, only came back one or two years ago.

Pokerstudy

Pokerstudy

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
The world had a problem with poker players making 400k a month but not other athletes making millions for their craft per year. Lol the irony

Shumkoolie

Shumkoolie

Legend