Age vs. Experience

B

benlstap

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Good day to everyone! My name is Ben and I am a student at Belmont University. I have been given the task to do an ethnography on poker or poker culture.

My basis is on whether age or experience matters in the poker society?

I am looking to this forum to help me answer this age old question!!
All in the name of research!

Every post could be used in my paper/ethnography and I am attaching 4 questions to maybe help get everyone on the right path.

Looking for semi-detailed answers since unfortunately college does not smile upon 1-2 word answers. All opinions matter!!!

Again thank you to anyone that helps me out with this great assignment, I believe poker is indeed a culture and need to be further studied.

1) How long have you been playing poker?

2) So when you started playing poker, did you think that age or experience mattered?

3) Do you believe age plays a factor in today’s poker society?

4) In your opinion, how does experience compare to age as a benefit or hindrance in the game of poker?

Looking forward to seeing some opinions!!!

Stu_Ungar

Stu_Ungar

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
2) So when you started playing poker, did you think that age or experience mattered?
When someone begins anything they dont have any experience.

cardriverx

cardriverx

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
what do you mean, age vs experience? Do you mean like new young (online) pros vs old experienced (live) veterans?

B

benlstap

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
When someone begins anything they dont have any experience.

True, but even nowadays, rookies have some sort of poker experience. I am just taking it further and casting the question which one is more of an asset in tournaments and overall poker.

what do you mean, age vs experience? Do you mean like new young (online) pros vs old experienced (live) veterans?