a ruling on when player to your right goes out and blinds hand after

O

oakie

Guest
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Total posts
6
ok so earlier i was playing a live game down the pub, there were 8 of us and the guy to my right was in the small blind. As the hand played out he went bust.

Next hand im being told the the guy who went out has to deal (even tho hes out) and i must put the small blind in. This cannot be right can it? this was only a few hands in so i protested in a friendly way they would not let up, saying that was the rules. as it was for less that 2% of my stack it wasnt the amount it was the pricipal.

Im sure that i should now be dealer and not put a small blind in as i normally would have done. The guy that was in charge runs it every week but isnt he wrong? hes a live player whereas this was only my second live tourney so i would like to know if its different to online.

thanks for your help
 
odinscott

odinscott

Legend
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Total posts
1,054
The blinds never skip you and neither does the deal as far as I know. It just sits in front of the empty seat. I am no expect on the rules though.
 
KenFischer

KenFischer

Rock Star
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Total posts
401
I'm not 100% sure if this was a cash game or a tournament, since you called it both "live game" and "tourney" but I'll assume it was a cash game.

I'll also assume that even if there isn't a physical "button", the passing of the deck is treated as if there was one, since that is generally how it happens.

In games which use a dealer button, it generally depends on the house rules whether the button is "live" (where the button always moves to the next player) or "dead" (where payment of the BB advances around the table, and the SB and button are placed based on that, whether a seat is occupied or not).

No matter which of these variation is being used in this game, unless the player who busted out is not intending to rebuy (or it's a freezeout, and they can't) it should be correct for you to post the SB on the hand as described.

If the player was leaving, and a "live button" is being used, I would expect the deal to move to you, and the blinds would be posted in front of it.
 
OzExorcist

OzExorcist

Broomcorn's uncle
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Total posts
8,583
Awards
1
It's called a dead button, and the ruling was 100% correct.

Think of it this way: if you took the button, you'd have skipped your small blind. This is unfair to the other players at the table, as you'll have paid less to play that round than others.

And the player to your left would be in the small blind, and would have skipped their big blind. This is even more unfair to the other players.
 
Starting Hands - Poker Hand Nicknames Rankings - Poker Hands
Top