What are people referring to when they talk about "game-theory optimal"?

basse

basse

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I wasn't sure where to put this thread, it pertains to both cash and tournament poker, really (but I think it's easier to talk about in terms of cash games). If it is the wrong place, I would appreciate if someone could move it to its right place.

I see a lot of people mention GTO or "game-theory optimal" in discussions here and elsewhere. What are people referring to, exactly, when they say this?

I am a researcher in computational game theory, and I don't think these concepts are well-defined, for mainly two reasons:

1. In games with more than two players, a strategy can only really be optimal with respect to a fixed set of strategies of all other players. At any given table, play is clearly not in equilibrium, so this represents serious problems for calling any strategy GTO.

2. In two-player zero-sum games (such as HU), it is more clear. Here, you can play a least exploitable strategy (technically you could also do this above, but that would probably be absolutely horrible, possibly consisting of folding almost everything), and it is arguably the optimal strategy. However, no such strategy is known. At least not for the poker games that people are discussing.

So I charge you, cardschat, with convincing me that the use of GTO as a discussion argument is sensible. I suspect that people might just be using it to mean something else than what it would technically mean in game theory.

Mase31683

Mase31683

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Cliff notes:

GTO is playing in a manner that is not exploitable.

A good example would be Nash equilibrium charts for shoving heads up.

/Cliff notes, begin tldr but I think you'll appreciate this.

Understanding Game Theory and Hold’em, by Bryce Paradis and Douglas Zare