Top pair.. Bet sizing??

B

Bluebottle88

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
OK so I'm new to poker.. Been playing on and off for fun for a while but not for money or really using any strategy other than AA = good.... 7-2 not so good...

The last month I started playing for money and studying, reading books, watching videos, learning some strategy, developing my own ranges etc... I was loosing at first, then I started breaking even... Winning a bit, making a few mistakes, making a bit more.. Until loosing a big bet usually by having a good hand on the flop and trying to see it out and getting out drawn on the river...

I've started making a profit from most of my sessions now but I was opening a-k, a-q, k-q.. Hitting top pair on the flop with good kicker and trying to get value betting around 30%-50% pot hoping to get called and id make it to the river and get beat... I've started raising the flop at least the size of the pot or just over since I've made this change I'm getting people to fold and I'm making money...

What is correct?

I had another thread on here where I opened KK for 5Bb.. Bet the flop and turn for value and got beat by 88.. Where the river card was an 8... Betting bigger id have probably won this hand too...

Y

yoejslattery

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
What limits are you playing at? the 88 vs KK beat may have been a bad player getting rewarded even though you played the hand well but they may have thought you had some kind of A high hand or something and again got lucky at the river.

I would be careful raising bigger on the flop with TP. You are still going to get called by better obviously so you may end up losing big pots and only winning small pots. Half pot bets are plenty in order to give your opponents the wrong odds to draw. you also will become predictable if you bet big with TP depending on what you do when you miss the flop.

B

Bluebottle88

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips