Suited Connectors?

D

dumpy620_84

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
As a newb, I decided to purchase Phil Gordon’s Little Green Book, which, for the most part, has been helpful. However, there is one area that confuses me – suited connectors.

In one part of the book he speaks about the ‘value of suitedness’, and concludes that suited connectors only fare about 3 or 4% better than unsuited connectors against random hands. Later on, and in other places in the book, he talks about how he’ll raise with suited connectors, assuming he’s in position. So, what’s the deal? If suited connectors are only a wee bit better than unsuited connectors, why am I playing them? Is that wee chance of a flush (which may not even be the nut flush) enough to make the hand playable? Or, conversely, why not play all unsuited connectors (position and situation not withstanding)?

And, as an aside, yes, I did a search, and couldn’t find the specific info I was looking for. I also considered placing this thread in the ‘Ask the Team’ forum, but I hear enough crickets chirping where I am.

Thanks in advance for the help.

CAPT. ZIGZAG

CAPT. ZIGZAG

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I believe it has to do with position.

"If you can find any reason to raise on the button, you should." ~ Chris Ferguson

-

D

duhstin

Rising Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips