Should you bet or check the best hand with many chances of being outdrawn?

L

limakpl

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone. This thread applies to no limit holdem cash game in particular, but still can be used in other games. I am a beginner so take it easy on me, we are here to learn ;) .

Sklansky in his "Theory of poker" strongly advise betting with the best hand almost always to not give worse hands free chance of improving and outdrawing us.
The only exception would be if our hand is very strong and chances of opponent catching a card that would give them better hand than ours were slim, and we expect to gain more chips through deception.
He also suggests that with hand that is likely to be the best and mediocre hand like 2nd pairs we should still be more willing to bet rather to give an opponent free chance of outdrawing us. He says that even in situation when we expect to be called only by a better hand, we still should bet rather than giving an opponent free chance of improving.
To illustrate his opinion he uses an example of Jc JD on board Ts Tc 3h against a better opponent. We should bet than give our opponent with random king queen or ace free chance of improving.

He also says the higher the chances your hand is the best and higher chances an opponent have of improving , the more reason to bet.
The point is, if you think is hand is better at the moment you should bet rather than check.

But what happens when it is likely that your and your opponent(calling station or Weak lags) missed the flop, but still you have an initiative and your hand is now a favorite against an opponent's wide range?

Examples

AKo out of position against calling station on 258 rainbow.
ATs in position on 378.
77 on 363.
88 on 279
A8s on 925