Should I play higher stakes?

S

String_dogg

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi there.
I'm pretty new to poker, probably played for around 2 months on and off. I started last week seriously playing for around 5 hours sessions (as much as I can per day basically) and I was rewarded with alot of success. I originally put in 10 dollars and through playing mico-stakes (1-2 cent blinds) I ended up with 30 dollars. Although I enjoyed playing, it seemed I put in alot of effort to earn a small amount of money. After this, I assumed I would keep building my bankroll through mico-stakes until my bankroll was big enough to move up stakes, but I began to become very impatient as It was taking forever to make any money. I ended up losing around 15 dollars and I was really pissed off. I just ended up going all in, or going too far with weak hands - just out of frustration that it was taking so long! Winning 80 cents feels like nothing to me (even through 80 cents is quite alot in micro-stakes). So doubling my stack in 10 minutes just feels like nothing, I wanted more!

So I decided to move up stakes to (5-10 cents) and I suddenly gained my money back and more, but It still feels too slow! Today I played for an hour and made 5 dollars (great) but then when someone was raising against me (I had KQs) I thought it was the ideal point to double up, so I gone all in and lost to AK unsuited -he won on the high-card ace. Looking back at it, I know going all in-preflop with KQs is not the best decision, actually going all in on AK unsuited isnt the best decision either! But emocionally I just needed to do it. After 20 minutes of no action and small pots, I just jumped at the chance of winning. I just get angry easily and lose my patience when I feel things arent going anywhere.