Should I follow range charts and limp on SB? It make me look like a passive player.

P

PokerPT2645

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

I am just starting to learn poker and I play 2NL on 888, 6Max.

I have a question on how to act on SB. Jonathan Little's ranges say you should limp in many situations when on SB. Like 35-is % is a raise, 35-ish% is a call (so limp), the rest is fold.

If I follow that, I will end up limping quite a lot on SB and my stats become something like 20/12, so I look quite passive.

Now, they I see it this can go both ways for my "reputation", I can be seen as a passive player, so exploitable, but at the same time this actually transmits a wrong image about my style because I am actually pretty TAG. So this confuses my opponents.

So do you think this SB limping may benefit me?

Or maybe it's better to just play it tight on SB and only raise with no limping?

Best

S

samsonand

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Ranks help at certain times of which you could take advantage of but still the best thing is the reading of cards of each game and each player

C

c0rnBr34d

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I haven't seen the chart you're referencing but I doubt that following it would make your stats go to 20/12. It sounds like for certain hand combinations you will be raising 1/3 of the time, calling 1/3 of the time, and folding 1/3 of the time. If you look at the total range there are probably only a few combos with this breakdown so the overall limp frequency will be quite low. Also, it should be fairly rare that there is no raise in front in the first place, so the amount of times you even have the opportunity to limp are already limited. Then on top of that you are only subject to this if you happen to have one of these couple of hands AND there was no raise, AND you are still only limping one out of 3 times.