ednaroza

ednaroza

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
BG
Chips
Hello! Recently I started playing poker online and quickly found out that poker as a game is not as simple as I first thought and that, in fact, there is a lot to master. So was wondering, what poker books you found very helpfull and allowed you to improve your play considerably?

Austria7

Austria7

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think all poker books are interesting. In my opinion, the tight aggressive style of play is easier to use for beginners. This style of play and the basics are well described in the older poker books. A big difference in the game of poker itself (regardless of whether it is a flop game, draw game or stud game) is whether it is cash game or tournament poker. In the cash game the blinds do not increase and there is no ante, in tournament poker the blinds and ante increase and you have to adjust your strategy accordingly. In order to understand the basic concepts of the game, one cannot avoid the "classics" like Hellmuth, Sklansky, Brunson and Harrington. There are of course many newer books that favor the loose aggressive style of play and which are also very good. Ultimately, it is best to pull the best out of all books and incorporate them into your own style. Hope that helps :)

C

CallmeFloppy

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Harrington on Hold Series - Dan Harrington
The Middle Zone - Annie Duke
The Theory of Poker - David Sklansky

I think that is a good start.

KRANKES

KRANKES

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
There are a lot of books available, even in pdf (e-book). Every single one has different advantages and I liked the ones, where the writer gives you insight in his thinking process in a hand. But there are as well many forums (like this one here :)), where you can find a lot of strategy tips. I love to take quizzes, so I can check, if I understand it good.

leifen

leifen

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
NO
Chips