I seek advise from players familiar with Ring Tables.

M

mange

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey Cardschatters,

I seek advise from players familiar with Ring Tables:

I am writing this Thread for some advise on playing in the Ring Tables. I have read in blogs and threads that there is lots of difference in playing in the two different games.
I have been playing mostly tournament poker for over three years, and am thinking about starting to play on the ring tables.
I would like some advise on how Ring Table play differs from tournaments. And, some advise on how to play at the Ring Tables.
I intend to start at the .02/04 cent level, playing Texas Holdem, and Omaha hi/lo.
Any and all advise will be appreciated.

mange

Last edited:
jdeliverer

jdeliverer

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well the 2 differences in cash vs. tournament poker are these:

1. Almost always, you will be more deep stacked in cash games, typically 50 or 100 BB is the standard. Therefore you can afford to play tighter and stealing blinds is no longer your main source of chips, especially preflop stealing.

2. You don't need to worry about survival. The implications are that you should take any edge that beats the rake. Never hesitate to stack when you are a 60/40 favorite. You don't have to muck around with ICM and chip equity, just do +EV moves all the time and you'll be all right.