Heads up holdem... I fail!

J

Joek

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
So Ive been playing pokerstars online for about 3 months... In the last week Im prolly 2/14 on 9 person holdem tables...
Im 13/14 at heads up...

I cant play heads up.. I just cant =\

Any heads up holdem guide? idk, it feels like a huge waste of time when i play a satellite and I beat out 8 people and freeze on the last guy... I always find a way to mess up...

Let me know, thanks...

oh and btw- Hey, Im Joe.. Im new

Egon Towst

Egon Towst

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Don`t feel bad, Joe. Heads-up is a difficult aspect of the game and lots of perfectly decent players struggle there.

Try this article for some pointers.

J

Joek

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
So I just read that article...

It seems my problem is that 90% of the time both myself and the other player will limp in and check our ways through to the end (pretty much making it impossible to win big with an AA or KK ect). Ill be delt an AA, for example, and I feel like if I raise, he'll throw away his cards... If I check it thru and he does as well, as soon as a J drops he'll get out of the pot because he thinks I just paired that...

IDK- I guess Ill have to try and be more agressive with my hands... Have him play some of his smaller hands after a bit...

I like the example where you raise from the small blind again and again and when you see an AA in your hands you just hit them with 'your' standard raise...

Ill see what happens (im in this week's weekly shot for the Main Event that PokerStars is hoasting so Ill have to go heads up 4 times to win it, lol.. win it.... phff) Hopfully my heads up game is improved :p

Cheers

Egon Towst

Egon Towst

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It`s very weak to play that passively in a heads-up game, Joe. I am playing in one right now, and my pre-flop raise percentage stands at 40%, which is not unusual.