Good or bad bluff

C

codybennett14

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Ive been playing poker for about 4 years and ive really wanted to improve by bluff/exploit game recently. I realize that you need specific situations to optimize in this area and I would like to know if this line I took is optimal. Game 1/2 blinds 5 to limp call . Hero (710 effective) Villian (1600 effective UTG) opens to standard 15. Folds to me in the cutoff i call with king C/ jack S. Small blind calls 3 way to flop. Flop is Jack S, 10 S, and 6 C. SB checks villian bets 25 i call, small blind calls. Im putting villain on (QQ) now. Turn is ace of clubs. SB checks villain bets 65 i raise to 170 to fold kings and queens out. SB folds He pauses and calls. River 8 of diamonds. He pauses and checks i know my pair of jacks is no good but i do have the King so i could rep king queen. I go all in for 500 he tanks... for 4 minutes grabs his chips twice and folds. What do you think of this line? He said he had ace/queen.

blueskies

blueskies

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Depends on your table image. If you have been playing competently, that line would most likely work against a decent player.

Dunno what read you have that would just narrow him down to QQ though. If I had QQ on that wet board with an overpair, I'd be cbetting larger to make'em pay to chase a draw.

And if the it's 200NL, why does a limp cost $5? What kind of variation is this?

mervin88

mervin88

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
i will take my showdown

most of the time you will get called but it worked for you this time

C

codybennett14

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Depends on your table image. If you have been playing competently, that line would most likely work against a decent player.

Dunno what read you have that would just narrow him down to QQ though. If I had QQ on that wet board with an overpair, I'd be cbetting larger to make'em pay to chase a draw.