Cooler Hands or NOT?

W

wlee013

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Sup ppls,

I've been playing poker for about 5 yrs now. Far from a pro, but far from a fish.

2 of the most difficult situtations for me to get away from is:

1) Holding KK and having someone with AA.
2) Set over Set.

I know that probably 99% of us will go broke in these situtations because they are what people call "cooler hands". Being a student of the game and constantly trying to imporve my skills, I truely believe that the best of the best can get away from these hands, and thats what separates the best from the rest.

Do you guys have any tips or opinions on what to look out for in these situtations? Whats the best approach to take? Ultiamtely, what precautions should/can i take and be aware of so that I can do my best to not bust out on hands like these. All feed back is great.

Thanks,

wlee013
progress.gif

B

Bovinity

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Yeah, when you start talking about "getting away" from hands like that, you're most likely looking at mistakenly folding the best hand for no good reason out of sheer paranoia most of the time.

Even when you do lose, you made the right decision.

jdeliverer

jdeliverer

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The best of the best don't get away from these hands. Neither should you, unless they flip over their cards.

slycbnew

slycbnew

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Being a student of the game and constantly trying to imporve my skills, I truely believe that the best of the best can get away from these hands, and thats what separates the best from the rest.

Echoing everyone else - nobody gets away from these. The best players lose stacks in these situations, just like the rest of us.

Learning this is a huge step forward in anyone's poker education - many players think there must be a way to avoid losing a stack in these situations, and the fact is there isn't.