Cautiously contemplating moving up to 200NL. I seriously need your advice.

youri

youri

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all, I hope you are having a good day.

I just recently ( a week or so) moved to 16NL after I built enough bankroll hoping one day.. maybe next 2 years move to 200NL as it is a stake that I can make a decent daily income out of. Its been almost 4 months since I deposited 30 bucks into pokerstars. I started playing 2NL then, moved to 5NL then 10NL and now I'm at 16NL. Its been decent, Its been a slow ride but, worthwile.

I got the news that I'm going to receive an unexpected gain in income, around 7500 dollars. that would give me 37 buy ins for 200NL more than enough for my bankroll needs for a specific limit, ( I operate within 20 to 25 buy ins). Now, with this money I got the bankroll required for 200N, however I'm reluctant. I'm not experienced enough for this limit heck not even 50NL and I'm honestly nowhere near a top top level yet, I'm still a student of the game. Should I move to 200NL and learn more in the process against obv good players? or should I continue in trying moving up the ladder slowly as it might be the more natural thing to do?

Note : If I move to 200NL I'll still have my regular job to pay the bills etc so I won't have that extra pressure if I lose it.

C

crazycitizen

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hellooo :)

Well firstly, congratulations on your poker journey so far, and also for your unexpected gain!

I have always been taught to diversify investments. So, personally I would split the $7500 up a bit. Some solid investments, considering something like a training course, or improving your living circumstances, etc.

You could still leave a decent chunk for poker, but I wouldn't put all of your poker bankroll on a site. You could keep it safely in a bank account to dip into if you needed to reload or take advantages or bonuses.