Calling Question

T

TKO

Guest
Played in a SNG last night, sitting in the 5th position, watching the flops come and no face cards come up in any of the hands. (This inclues flop, 4th, and the river) I have folded every hand so far because I like to see how the pace of the table is going to go, unless I have a premium hand. (TAG?)

Just before the big blind is to come to me, I am dealt A4 off. Normally this is not a hand I would play w/o being in the blinds. Keep in mind no face cards have been dealt in the game yet. My question is, do I limp in and take my chances? I know it is early in the game where blinds are $10/$20 but no one has raised yet either or has made any bets over the blind so I do not have a read on anyone yet.

Thank you for your input in advance.
 
A

alan1983

Visionary
What dyou mean no face cards have been delt yet?


If you mean you havent had face cards yet, then you shouldnt let that get you impatient.

if you mean previous flops havent had face cards, then thats irrelevant to the current hand.


I guess there are hands where i would limp in in early position with, but A4 offsuit isnt one of them.

Say an ace comes up on flop. Theres a big chance many of those who are in the hand have a higher ace, what dyou do then? You have kicker trouble.

With Ace 4 youre looking to flop two pairs minimum, and thats not good enough to justify a limp in early position imo.
 
T

TKO

Guest
What dyou mean no face cards have been delt yet?


If you mean you havent had face cards yet, then you shouldnt let that get you impatient.

if you mean previous flops havent had face cards, then thats irrelevant to the current hand.

In the previous 4 hands, no face cards were dealt at all. I know that the previous hands are irrelevant in the current hand, I just wanted an opinion about whether or not to limp in and take a chance. Suited A4 I wouldn't have a problem with, and if I would have called I would have been looking for two pair. Thanks
 
M

MercilessKiller

Rock Star
no.

Early stages of a tournament A4 to me is unplayable. A lot of people sometimes see it suited and that decides it, but A4 is junk.

Your taking a chance, but if you hit your A you have a crap kicker if someone bets big. If you hit your 4 your against overcards.

So your in late position. Lets say you call and flop comes

89A 2 clubs (and you have Diamond and a heart)

First pos checks, 2nd does a standard pot bet...

You dont know where you are without raising, so even though raising here is the correct move, your in a position where the correct move is costing you more so you may as well have just folded pre flop!

i'd rather play 67 suited. Same type of rules with hitting pairs, but u add the straight possibilities and flush posibilities, so though i dont use suits as an excuse to call, if i had A4 off suit or marginal suited connecters to call with, i'd choose the latter.

If it was 4 handed or blinds were higher i may raise with A4 if no action to me so far. But no need to get involved.
 
G

Ghoundai

Guest
midposistion - mid-upper level pairs and AK only -- that simple you cant call a raise without those hands -- and if you cant call a raise or raise with it -- you shouldnt play it unless you need a steal in a tourney in which case you want LOW cards in midposisition to represent strength and IF called your cards are live -- like the 67s example
 
M

MercilessKiller

Rock Star
midposistion - mid-upper level pairs and AK only -- that simple you cant call a raise without those hands -- and if you cant call a raise or raise with it -- you shouldnt play it unless you need a steal in a tourney in which case you want LOW cards in midposisition to represent strength and IF called your cards are live -- like the 67s example

I would disagree. AK Only is TOO tight... you'll be losing a lot of blinds and even though they're low, thats a good reason to see flops, and hit things! As well as give a good image.. you don't want a very very very tight image all the time as then when you hit aces you got no chance of making anything!

AJ would prob be the worst A to play from mid position and that'd be just a limp! (Easy to do with blinds low). AQ I'd even raise as you still have a chance to buy the button especially if your left is tight.

This all depends on who's at the table, who's to your left, and how comfortable you are playing the flop and continuation betting if you only have 1 opponenet.
 
Top