J

JonPoker

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Regarding raising and calling draws at the micros

Hey all
I'm relatively new to poker (1 month) and have been struggling to incorporate bluffs into my range. It seems impossible to get fish to fold when re-raise the flop/turn with draws. A lot of them will panic and jam all in against a re-raise with top pair shit kicker, which stops me from calling because I don't have the odds.

Bombing the river seems almost futile as I have been looked up plenty with tpshitkicker, second pair and even ace high lmao. Currently standing at 11bb/100 at 22k hands and I believe I would be higher if I didn't waste so many stacks trying to figure out how to incorporate bluffs.

Here's my question, I want to take the line of calling cbets as the pfc and doublebarelling as the pfr with combo draws, but giving up if I don't hit my draws. Re-raising the flop sometimes gives me a cheap river but a lot of the times the fish will panic and jam. So I might re raise the flop but not the turn, depending on the specific opponent. The regs are able to find the fold button more often.

And basically I'm planning to completely get rid of river bluffs from my range. I know it seems highly exploitable but you'd be surprised the number of times the stupid fish have called my river all ins with tpshitkicker, second pair and Ace high after I hit my draw. The bluffing does seem to add value to my value holdings but I don't know if it's enough to cover all the stacks I lose trying to bluff.

Last edited:
J

JonPoker

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Ok this hand just happened and is what I was talking about. I cbet oop against the fish with a flush draw. He re-raises my cbet and I call, I've put the fish on top pair. On the turn I check to the fish and fish bets half pot.