Is my approach to GTO useless?

A

Aleh00

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
FI
Chips
So, I'v been doing some solving and studying GTO. My choice of solver is GTO+. I have solved situations for 3bet pots, single raised pots and part of 4bet pots. All of these have been solved for each position. I know the limitations and the fact that playing GTO does not equal to most EV gained. Thats not what I'm asking here. Previously mentioned situations have been solved for 3 bet sizings (33%, 67%, 140%), no donking (Im aware that there is boards where you can have donking range) and 1 check-raising size (75%). I still use 3 sizings on turn and river.

After solving, the solver obviously for many situations showed varying bet sizing and frequencies, which in many boards are pretty much impossible to remember or execute. I started playing around and editing the game tree on the flop by removing one or two bet sizings on different flops. I noticed that in some cases reducing the bet size to only one sizing made negligible loss to EV and in some cases reducing even gained some EV. I know that there is many boards you should have more than one sizing. I have not just blindly stared at the EV. I have tried to understand why the solver plays as it plays with the given ranges involved in each situation. For some flops I have left 2 sizings, since I realize that you preferably need 2 sizings for protection, getting more value etc. This has been my approach on simplifying game trees to be more pragmatic while playing. All im trying to do is understand the reasons behind solvers outputs and to create "baseline" for myself to fall back on while on playing, which still would be GTO approved.