Advice from Beginner, Intermediate and Pros HERE!!!

J

JackB03

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey everyone. Im Jack. Ive been playing for 4 years but took a year off, and just now getting back into the poker world. Before, I just took it lightly and didnt care much about the game, just the money. But when I took the year off and got back into it, I wanna play to understand the game and make the right decisions. Money will come with it I know, but I wanna know the game! Its been a month since I got into it, and havent made any money or won any tournments. I have alot of books and videos. Im trying to read the books and understand it but I think im consuming so much information, its getting me no where. The reason I wrote this is because I wanna know what alot of yall do when you go to the table. What do you think abut during a hand. What do you do before you make a decision. Because when i get in a hand, my mind goes blank it seems. I just play my cards. And I know thats not right at all. I feel like I just need to start all over from the basics. Maybe some other good books someone can suggest. I just need some insight on what everyone does when they think at the table. Any help will be very helpful.

Like I said, I want to understand the game, and i try to make the right decision and know my decision is right every hand I play. Money is not an issue, but as long as Im makin the right decision, money will come along.

Thanks for everyones help.

_Jack

dj11

dj11

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You came to the right place.

As for what I think. It depends.

It depends on the relative value of my hand, and what my reads on the opponents are. What is my stack size vs the potsize, do I have odds in favor or against my situation at the moment.

The list goes on and on, and I'm fairly sure you'll get good response to this thread.

All of us, like you, would love to get into the heads of our opponents.

J

JackB03

Rising Star
Bronze Level