Scared to play

C

chump39

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi

I'm fairly new to poker and I'm playing a low stake because this keeps happening to me.
I'm playing super tight aggressive because I'm so sick of fish getting lucky on the river.
In the previous hand, I'd had AKo UTG and lead 20c everyone folded.
Then this:

Dealt to Hero: A A

UTG Folds, EP Calls $0.05, HERO Raises To $0.20, MP2 Calls $0.20, HJ Calls $0.20, CO Folds, BTN Folds, SB Folds, BB Folds, EP Calls $0.15

Hero SPR on Flop: [4.61 effective]
Flop ($0.87): 8 J K
EP Checks, HERO Bets $0.62 (Rem. Stack: $8.85), MP2 Folds, HJ Folds, EP Raises To $1.66 (Rem. Stack: $2.35), HERO Calls $1.04 (Rem. Stack: $7.81)

Turn ($4.19): 8 J K Q
EP Bets $2.35 (allin), HERO Calls $2.35 (Rem. Stack: $5.46)

River ($8.89): 8 J K Q 2

EP shows: J J

EP wins: $8.45

P

ph_il

Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
you got coolered. dont worry about it.

since you're new, getting coolered basically means you lost a hand but neither you or villain made an error. ask yourself, if you were in villains shoes, would you play exactly the same?

Last edited:
Zorba

Zorba

Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
AQ
Chips
If you intend to play poker regularly you will need to get used to that. AA isn't a guaranteed win.

:bandit:

IntenseHeat

IntenseHeat

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Yeah, that's going to happen from time to time. Try not to be discouraged. Good luck out there on the felt.

C

chump39

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I wouldn't limp from UTG with JJ

you got coolered. dont worry about it.

since you're new, getting coolered basically means you lost a hand but neither you or villain made an error. ask yourself, if you were in villains shoes, would you play exactly the same?

ga25x

ga25x

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Don't be afraid to play premium hands, just be ready to lose lots of them.

run187

run187

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Chips