An NL Hand

P

PokerBonuses

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I am new to NL, having played mostly limit until lately.

Cryptologic
No Limit Holdem Ring game
Blinds: $0.50/$1
10 players

Stack sizes:
UTG: $32.25
UTG+1: $94
UTG+2: $46.39
MP1: $100.75
MP2: $124.48
MP3: $48
Hero: $27.12
Button: $126.25
SB: $60.50
BB: $112

Pre-flop: (10 players) Hero is CO with :qd4: :jd4:
UTG folds, UTG+1 calls, UTG+2 folds, MP1 raises to $2, 2 folds, Hero calls $2 (pot was $4.5), 2 folds, BB calls, UTG+1 calls.

Flop: :8d4: :kc4: :5d4: ($8.5, 4 players)
BB bets $6, UTG+1 folds, MP1 calls, Hero calls $6 (pot was $20.5).

Turn: :10h4: ($26.5, 3 players)
BB bets $10, MP1 calls, Hero calls $10 (pot was $46.5).

River: :as4: ($56.5, 3 players)
BB checks, MP1 bets $10, Hero calls all-in $9.12, BB folds.
Uncalled bets: $0.88 returned to MP1.

Results:
Final pot: $74.74

joosebuck

joosebuck

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
raise the flop and i bet the BB would have checked to you (notice the river weakness)

C

colin_147

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You played it perfect. Nothing you could have done to get any more from the pot. I think you played it better than you was meant to play it!

You have outs on the flop, so a call is good. You dont wanna take down the pot yet, as you are probably favourite to win, so you wanna build the pot

On the turn, you have so many outs. Again, you wanna be flat calling, and the other players will almost certainly call the river due to your stack size

Nice play

ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm still a noob with odds, but isn't his flop call a bad one in terms of odds?

$6 to call in a $20.5 pot ($8.5 in the middle +$6 +$6)
20.5/6 = 3.41

so pot odds are 3.41:1

odds to hit a flush from flop--->turn are 4.88:1 so he is calling against the odds (right?)

or are we taking pot odds into account?

(i understand once the turn brought the straight draw on top of the flush, he had odds to call)

C

colin_147