8000 Hands in, down 12 buyins. Hand Review

I

itsayoke

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
So as the says, I'm new to poker and online poker, just about 8,000 hands in on 10NL online. I'm down 12 buyins and trying to understand where I am going wrong. I know variance will play some into this, but I am not here assuming I am a winning player w/o variance. I realize everyone thinks they are better than they really are, but I often find myself losing to players who I know are worse. Lots of players with VPIP >40%, PFR <15% who cap their ranges and mostly don't bluff. Its starting to get to me mentally, I am wondering what to do or how to go about reviewing my hands and adjusting to this play. Here is an example of a hand that I feel I often lose to. This may be me just playing poorly, but I'd like some feedback. So many hands like this. Being down 12 buysin I am wondering what to do, I can afford it, I just sincenrly want to improve for the sake of improving

Thanks

Preflop ^ max (Villan PFRs, Hero Calls, going heads up)

*** FLOP *** [Jh 8s As]
Hero: checks
Villan: bets $0.20
Hero: calls $0.20
*** TURN *** [Jh 8s As] 2♣
Villan: bets $1
Hero: calls $1
*** RIVER *** [Jh 8s As 2c] Q♥
Villan: bets $3
Hero: calls $3
*** SHOW DOWN ***
Villan: shows [Jc Js] (three of a kind, Jacks)
Hero shows [two pair Aces,Queens]
Villan collected $8.64 from pot

Batarang96

Batarang96

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You need to tell us what stakes you are playing and how big your stacks are.

Batarang96

Batarang96

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Sorry that I missed the stakes. There are a few other things that you also need to include...

Before telling the action, tell what hole cards you had; not only the ranks but also the suits. Also, include the size of the pot, on the flop, turn, and river.

I don't understand what you mean by "Preflop ^ max"; is there a bet-size limit?

You may consider 3-betting, PF; if he 4-bets, then you should fold.