$5 NLHE 6-max: Was turning top pair into a bluff bad? (QJ missed straight draw)

C

chessnotcheckers

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I think this is a bad bluff because my hand has some showdown value, and villain isn't folding a lot of hands that beat me. I think they folded a worse hand or an overpair (only 3 of those). I shoved anyway because I'm still learning about what spots are good for bluffing. They are probably calling with any straight or flush, which is what I rep with the shove. So I don't think it's good. What do you think?
https://www.cardschat.com/replayer/125db3X8
NL Holdem 0.05(BB)

HERO ($6.05) [VPIP: 28.4% | PFR: 22.8% | Hands: 2833]
CO ($5.51) [VPIP: 62.5% | PFR: 56.3% | Hands: 16]
BTN ($5.57) [VPIP: 53.3% | PFR: 20% | Hands: 16]
SB ($2.87) [VPIP: 71.4% | PFR: 7.1% | Hands: 14]
BB ($2.75) [VPIP: 33.3% | PFR: 16.7% | Hands: 12]
UTG ($7.48) [VPIP: 29% | PFR: 19.4% | Hands: 33]

Dealt to Hero: Q J

UTG Folds, HERO Raises To $0.15, CO Raises To $0.45, BTN Folds, SB Folds, BB Folds, HERO Calls $0.30

Hero SPR on Flop: [5.22 effective]
Flop ($0.97): T J 9
HERO Bets $0.70 (Rem. Stack: $4.90), CO Calls $0.70 (Rem. Stack: $4.36)

Turn ($2.37): T J 9 6
HERO Bets $1.70 (Rem. Stack: $3.20), CO Calls $1.70 (Rem. Stack: $2.66)

River ($5.77): T J 9 6 6
HERO Bets $3.20 (allin), CO Folds

HERO wins: $5.49

Last edited:
S

Sidetracked

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Opening QJo from the Hijack is pretty loose. Then calling a 3 bet with that hand out of position is very loose.

I think turning that weak a top pair into a bluff the way that you did will be a losing play in the long run. It did work that time, so well played.

C

chessnotcheckers

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Opening QJo from the Hijack is pretty loose. Then calling a 3 bet with that hand out of position is very loose.