$2 NLHE 6-max: K9 Raise on the River

mrxuptown

mrxuptown

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Beginner here trying to get some help..

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winning Poker Network (Yatahay) - $0.02 NL (6 max) - Holdem - 6 players

CO: 100 BB (VPIP: 25.49, PFR: 19.61, 3Bet Preflop: 4.35, hands: 51)
BTN: 116.5 BB (VPIP: 10.34, PFR: 0.00, 3Bet Preflop: 0.00, Hands: 29) <-Villain
SB: 100.5 BB (VPIP: 14.29, PFR: 14.29, 3Bet Preflop: 0.00, Hands: 7)
BB: 130.5 BB (VPIP: 35.56, PFR: 17.78, 3Bet Preflop: 0.00, Hands: 49)
UTG: 177.5 BB (VPIP: 30.56, PFR: 19.44, 3Bet Preflop: 15.79, Hands: 37)
Hero (MP): 150.5 BB

SB posts SB 0.5 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 1.5 BB) Hero has K 9

fold, Hero raises to 4 BB, fold, BTN calls 4 BB, fold, fold

Flop: (9.5 BB, 2 players) 6 3 4
Hero checks, BTN bets 4.5 BB, Hero calls 4.5 BB

Turn: (18.5 BB, 2 players) K
Hero checks, BTN bets 13.5 BB, Hero calls 13.5 BB

River: (45.5 BB, 2 players) 7
Hero checks, BTN bets 32.5 BB, Hero raises to 75 BB, fold

Hero wins 105 BB

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I feel that my raise on the river was a good play based on my assumption of my opponent's range. He seemed like a TAG so I had his preflop calling range at QJs+, 99+, A8s+, AJ+ and he was on the button so he could've been bluffing air, a low pair or Ace high.

Did I have a correct assumption of the villains range?
How would you play a board like this?
Was the line I took +EV in your opinion?
Would this classify as a value bet, bluff, or neither?

If you have any other comments or insights on this hand let me know because it was an interesting hand to me.

PaxMundi

PaxMundi

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips