$2 NLHE 6-max: Beginner looking for advice

W

Walker_Bros_360

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi All, i'm very new to poker and would appreciate any advice on this hand as I was unsure of what to do as people are often quite straightforward in micro stakes.
pokerstars - $0.02 NL (6 max) - Holdem - 6 players

Hero (SB): 105 BB
BB: 97 BB
UTG: 113.5 BB
MP: 101.5 BB
CO: 122.5 BB
BTN: 80 BB

Hero posts SB 0.5 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 1.5 BB) Hero has 3c Ah
fold, MP raises to 3 BB, fold, fold, Hero calls 2.5 BB, fold

Flop : (7 BB, 2 players) 5d As 4c
Hero checks, MP bets 4.5 BB, Hero raises to 9 BB, MP calls 4.5 BB

Turn : (25 BB, 2 players) Js
Hero checks, MP checks

River : (25 BB, 2 players) 9s
Hero bets 10 BB, MP raises to 30 BB

5pAce_C0wb0y

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Firstly A3o should never be a call out of the SB either 3bet or fold. Your issue is you've called preflop which caps your range and your out of position and have an Ace with a weak kicker. On the river here you have to fold in fact you'd of probably been better checking and then folding to a monster bet or calling a small one.

W

Walker_Bros_360

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Firstly A3o should never be a call out of the SB either 3bet or fold. Your issue is you've called preflop which caps your range and your out of position and have an Ace with a weak kicker. On the river here you have to fold in fact you'd of probably been better checking and then folding to a monster bet or calling a small one.
Thanks a lot for the advice, very helpful. I think the reason i called was I had heard you should have a wider range in the blinds as it's a reduced price to call. Does this only apply to BB, or is it just plain false?

5pAce_C0wb0y

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips