Spin and Go - am I a fish?

E

E V A N

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello all,

I want to start a discussion about spin and go’s. Are they a lure for fish? Are they too high variance to make a profit? Can skilled players truly make profit off of this game type?

My personal story is that I deposited to pokerstars, and doubled my money in a week playing only spins. Then the next week I started playing for much higher stakes ($30-$50) and blew out my bankroll.

Am I a fish? (I want honesty, not a sugar coating)

hugh blair

hugh blair

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Spin and go can be very tilting causing you to chase losses and forgot bankroll management if your in the wrong state of mind,
Its easy to win or lose a huge bankroll in hours never mind weeks as each game you play you are 33.33% to win 67.67% roughly to lose.
Variance and luck is huge in this shortstacked turbo game,
If you are landing on many 2x not hitting and winning the big multipliers it can become a real struggle.
Blinds get high you can not fold KK or QQ get all in preflop but can lose to AJs or worse type of hands all day long sometimes.
The higher stakes on pokerstars are played by many good serious regulars and pros too.

Edu1

Edu1

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
blew out the bankroll first time is ok, but learn with your mistakes and don't be a fish, because they don't learn (fish don't have memory or seems not) understand the pun :D

X

xy23

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Spin and go can be very tilting causing you to chase losses and forgot bankroll management if your in the wrong state of mind,
Its easy to win or lose a huge bankroll in hours never mind weeks as each game you play you are 33.33% to win 67.67% roughly to lose.
Variance and luck is huge in this shortstacked turbo game,
If you are landing on many 2x not hitting and winning the big multipliers it can become a real struggle.