Improvement

G

Gidgeman

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I started playing poker again after maybe 5-6 years. I was never serious about it just played for fun. This time around I decided to take it seriously and have played a lot during the past 8 week. I just don’t seem to be improving and I’m never trying to assess opponents hands or try and put them on something because I don’t understand how you do that. Like I see streamers say oh I’m blocking the ak combo because I have 1 k ? But there’s 3 others in a deck, i don’t know what steps to take to improve. Any help would be appreciated thanks

G

GSMTH

Enthusiast
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I started playing poker again after maybe 5-6 years. I was never serious about it just played for fun. This time around I decided to take it seriously and have played a lot during the past 8 week. I just don’t seem to be improving and I’m never trying to assess opponents hands or try and put them on something because I don’t understand how you do that. Like I see streamers say oh I’m blocking the ak combo because I have 1 k ? But there’s 3 others in a deck, i don’t know what steps to take to improve. Any help would be appreciated thanks

Don't take the "blocking" too literally, they just mean that their hand reduces the possibility of the opponent having certain cards.
When I have AK and you go all in, I can be relatively certain you do not have AA or KK, because my AK reduces that possibility. it's never 100% sure.

putting your opponent on a certain range of cards is very difficult if you have never played with that person before, but you can make estimates by the way he bets, calls and raises. Then, when you get to see his cards, you can refine your assessment, make notes on that player to remember.

G

GSMTH

Enthusiast
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
1 simple step to improve:
make sure 85% or more of the hands you play are in the top 20% of strongest hands (you need to practice patience and be disciplined).