How many players are profitable in the long run?

M

Millie232

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I've been having this thought ever since I started playing poker. I've read a few articles, other forum posts, and even just had discussions.

The number 1/10 comes up a lot, which sounds to me like it should be about right. Live poker tournaments tend to award money to the top 15% of players, while online ones are sometimes pay as high as 30% of people. The same is true for SNGs - from what I can see, most 9-handed games pay the top 3, while most 3-handed ones have a single winner. If you assume that, online, about 50% of people probably just get lucky while the other 50% are fairly consistent winners, that's about 10-15%.

How many players do you think are able to consistently make money playing the different kinds of poker?

BnaD

BnaD

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I believe any player who adopts a proven winning strategy and sticks to it can be a winning player. It takes time and practice, but it is possible.

AMTTT

AMTTT

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
there are many players who are constantly playing major tournaments and often fall in the money and sometimes occupy the first place, that they have enough for a living

A

animalitymk3

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I was told that 95% of all players are not actually profitable and only gamble recreationally. The amount of professionals are usually low anyway.

igrok8503

igrok8503

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
There are a lot of new players, but there are also a lot of experienced ones. This is known only to poker rooms, who is reckless, who is average, and who plays professionally.

A

AJantwan

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Let's ignore rake and buy-in fees for a minute.

Suppose there was a fixed number of poker players. 50% would be above average and 50% would be below average. You might assume then that 50% would be winners.