Tournament Tactics - Float Play (Long)

Egon Towst

Egon Towst

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
That ET guy is so lucky, can you believe it ? That bugger final tabled both of the Online Forum Challenge tournies last weekend. He must run like God. I bet you wish you had that kind of luck.

:hmmmm2: :hmmmm2: :hmmmm2:

Maybe. Maybe not. I have to admit that I do seem to be in a spell of positive variance right now, and my good hands are mostly holding up, 80/20s winning 80 per cent of the time, and so forth. I am no more proof against suckouts and beats than any other player.

But, if I do have something that some of our less experienced MTT players would also like to have, you won`t find it in the stars or the tea leaves. My edge comes from reading, from studying the game and from thinking about strategies and tactics. Let me share one of my thoughts with you:-

Tournament Tactics – Float Play

You have mastered the fundamentals of the game and arrived at a sufficient standard that you can routinely survive in tournaments. No longer are you out in the first hour (barring the occasional bad beat).

The next frustration comes when trying to amass chips in the middle game. Will you get to the money with an average or above-average stack and be a serious final-table contender, or will you scrape past the bubble and just about manage to make your buyin back ?

Maybe you can get there occasionally, when the deck hits you in the face, but that will rarely be enough to make you a consistent money earner. To do that, you need to make your own luck by using advanced tactics to wring extra value from marginal situations. One of those advanced tactics is the float play.

In outline, the float play is a multi-street bluff which involves calling an opponent`s pre-flop raise, calling his continuation bet on the flop, then betting to steal the pot from him, should he check the turn.

It isn`t as complicated as it sounds. An example may help make the principles clearer: