Tournament Study Journal

MemphisGrind

MemphisGrind

Think Bink
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I study everyday and I feel like having a spot online where I can keep track of what I'm studying would be a good thing. Anyone that has thoughts, a differing opinion or questions feel free to comment.

I'm pretty much going over anything and everything involving tournaments right now. I will post stuff that seems fundamental and also things more advanced. It all needs to be studied constantly to stay fresh.

This year as of 10-11-18 I'm down $3975.00 in MTT's. My buy-ins total $4865.00 and my cashes total $890.00 Luckily I'm a solid cash game player so I'm not down for the year way up actually. But I feel I'm missing something when it comes to Tournament play. My hopes are to strengthen my tournament play and by end of next year, or maybe this year fingers crossed have a profitable tournament year.

First portion will be 7 tips for tournament poker

1. Steal a lot, but don't go overboard.
Against weaker opponents raising small and often works well in late position

2. Defend your big blind a lot HU
In multi way pots only play hands that play well multi way.

3. Be wary of 4bet shoves when 25-40bb's deep
If they’re going to continue with silly hands, but never 4-bet without a monster, we can 3-bet for value with little fear of being blown off of our equity.Choose blocker hands just below your calling range as 3-bet bluffs against good and aggressive players. 3-bet a more value-heavy range against passive fish.

4.Deep stacks? 3bet like it's a cash game.
With deeper stacks, your opponents are more incentivized to continue against your 3-bets, which can lead to tough situations with marginal hands. with super-deep stacks you want to have a somewhat linear, high card-heavy 3-betting range against fish, and a polarized 3-betting range against regulars.

5. Don't continuation bet every hand

Ask yourself these questions

• Whose range does the flop hit the best?