Throwing away a chip lead.

A

Acewild

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I am pretty new to Poker, I started to study and play on free Apps such as wsop and Zynga and believe I have a sound understanding of the fundamentals of Poker and this past week I decided to start playing real money. At the start of multi table tournaments I have played solidly and in several instances been the runaway chip leader at some stages but I seem to throw it away for some reason as the tournament progresses.

I start loosening up with the intention of further increasing my chip lead but then in a couple of hands I just make almost greedy calls, decimate my stack and go on tilt, furious with myself for making a decision I knew was not optimal play. I am just looking for some tips for tournament play when you start well and build so you are a large stack. How do you find the balance between building your stack and consolidating your lead and avoiding going broke?

Should I tighten up when I have a lead and just play premium hands or should I apply pressure on the blinds really often?

Also if anyone could recommend some software so that I can record my gameplay and then be able to analyse it, would be hugely helpful.

Last edited:
Dunc8b

Dunc8b

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
This sounds sooo much like me.

I have tried to review my behaviour and I think what I was doing (and still do) was playing looser "because I have lots of chips" but not really being aware of just how much the blinds were. It only takes 4 or 5 speculative calls at 1000/2000+ blind to take a big chunk out of your chip stack later in the game.

M

Mantones

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Just don`t make many greedy calls,try to study your opponents,and protect your hand in an aggresivly way :)

P

PW300

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips