Table sizes

mkdrummey

mkdrummey

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
When I first started playing online poker (freerolls) during the poker boom a lot of the sites I played at had 10 players at a table.

Now I don't know of any site that uses this format any more. pokerstars I think was always 9. But some other sites have 8.

What was behind the change?

zam220

zam220

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I started playing in 2013, and there were already 9 people at the tables! And on 888 there were 8 people! I didn’t even see where 10 people were playing at the table in the freeroll, so I don’t know what this is connected with! I only played in the CIS, where there were 10 people at the table, they are still alive at PokerStars!

F

fourroses

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think that is a trend ,sit and goes startet sooner and in tournements it is easier to handle 9 or 8 seats at the table for the gaming computer

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Less players at the table give more action and less waiting. Online cash tables are mostly 6-max these days, so its actually a little strange, that most tournaments are still played with 9 players at the table. Some tournaments also play in the 8-max format, which is close to 9-max but still with a bit more action.

akmost

akmost

Rising Star
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
GR
Chips
Hmmm I don't know but I think the standard for MTTs is 9 handed but for the big events they usually prefer the 8 handed- I don't know why. Maybe because of what fundiver199 has stated above ^ !?!?

Haven't seen a 10 handed table for a long time too!

E

enzomyn

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
When I first started playing online poker (freerolls) during the poker boom a lot of the sites I played at had 10 players at a table.

Now I don't know of any site that uses this format any more. Pokerstars I think was always 9. But some other sites have 8.

What was behind the change?