Strange But True
Main Event St Louis WSOP
Circuit, $5k buy-in, 27 players left, paying 12. Blinds are 800-1600. Average stack approx 60,000.
Joel Casper (very good player from Chicago) opens mid position for 4,000 and is called by Bryan (also very good player) on the Button. Joel and Bryan have similar, above average stacks in the 100,000 range.
Flop is A52 rainbow, check, check
Turn is an 8, Joel bets 6,000, Bryan calls.
River is a Ten. Board is A528T, no flush possible. Joel bets 10,000. Bryan, now very quietly announces "raise," and, as was his custom, puts only the 10,000 in first. Joel, wearing headphones, didn't hear the verbal "raise," and before Bryan could complete his action, rolls over AK, for top pair, top kicker. Joel is dismayed to find out that Bryan has not completed his action and that he has inadvertently exposed his hand with action pending.
The floor is brought over and after lengthy discussion, the ruling is that Bryan's raise declaration is valid and he can (must) now proceed with a raise of his choosing. Bryan immediately says "all-in." Joel is mortified, tanks a bit, then says "you're not really sick enough to bluff in this spot, are you?" and mucks his already tabled AK.
Question 1 -- Could you ever summon up the courage, chutzpah, or insanity to call a guy at this spot in a major tourney who has seen your hand?
Question 2 -- Bryan showed after Joel folded, what did Bryan show?
Answer to question to follow later this week