Squeeze Play Sizing Survey. Open to all Tournament Players to Participate!

ChickenArise

ChickenArise

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Was getting a feel for where my son is at in tournament poker as I have been teaching him how to play for about 6 months now and I feel he is absorbing it well. I got some confirmation of this today when I posed the following situation to him.

Rather than divulge his answers I pose the question to you all and I will reveal my answer and his as well about a week down the road after I have seen some thread participation.

For now I will tell you that my sons answer matched mine exactly for the first question about the hand.

We differed on opinion for the second question about the sizing to get it through. I thought the question interesting enough to pose it all to you:

You are in an 8 max freezout. Everyone has about a 25k stack. Blinds are 300/600 with an extra 600 ante posted by the big blind.

5 players limp before you and its to you in the big blind. Lets assume for the sake of simplicity UTG folds.

1) What is the minimum hand that you would consider a squeeze bet with?

and

2) How much do you squeeze bet?

Feel free to include any explanation or formulation you wish along with your answer.

Free likes for all who participate with serious answers.

I will post my original answer as well as my son's next Sunday.

Eric Salvador

Eric Salvador

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Table dynamics could possibly change this answer but having just sat down probably 64s as a bluff and AJo as value raise. I almost always would elect to squeeze here. The hand begins with 2.5bb and with 5 limps there’s 7bb in dead money. I’m going to squeeze here with a wide range. I’m raising 9bb

P

popstani

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips