Recommended Tourneys to Build Bankroll?

S

sundizzel

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm wondering which types of tournaments and/or structures are best for grinding up a bankroll given no time constraints or other obligations.

I started playing poker about 3 months ago and have managed to run my bankroll up to about $300 from freerolls and super-micros. I am abiding by the 0.3% of bankroll ($1) ABI for MTTs and 1.0% of bankroll ($3) ABI for SNGs, although I admittedly play almost no SNGs.

I have mostly been playing the long late registration, large field tournaments (e.g., 4 - 6 hours of late registration with 1,000+ runners), and I am wondering if there may be better alternatives or at least some other good structures with which to supplement my daily sessions. I virtually never late register or buy back in to the tournament if I bust, but I've seen threads that strongly encourage rebuying and adding on (if possible) in these types of tourneys. Am I being too conservative with my single bullet? I certainly run into players that can afford to play much more aggressively because they are willing to fire additional bullets, which puts me at a disadvantage and makes me play tighter; in such long tourneys, however, you can still play tight and lose one huge flip, and then you're screwed.

Although I've been doing alright in the large field tourneys, they take a long time and pay quite well only if you actually place. Therefore, they have a bit of an up-and-down feel when looking at the bankroll from day to day.

I've heard a lot about SNGs as being the best way to grind up a bankroll, but they seem to tend to be turbos, which I am not used to/don't perform well in.

PKOs seem fun, but the few that I've played have crazy players in them, and I don't really know the nuances of how you're supposed to change your play/range to account for bounties.