Needing advice early on in a tournament

R

Rakotobe

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone, i've been playing online tournaments for a few months now, but i find it extremely hard to get in the money bubble.
Anyone here (that constantly get to final table) have good tips on getting through the all in shoves early game?
There are so many of them!

Most of the time i try to wait for connector/suited higher than 9/10, but blinds goes up so fast that, than by the time i find a good hand. my stack is down by half :(

Do you guys only wait for pocket pairs and just shove all in and pray?

AntonEast

AntonEast

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It depends on what kind of tournaments you play, but in general you should play very tight in the beginning, probably tighter than you already play. It's hard though to give you a good answer when I don't know the buy-in, blind structure and starting stack.

S

Steve_StudAA

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I have been called a fish, but those turbo tournies can be tough.

You need play super tight, but when in position, button or cutoff and folded to you, you can shove almost any 2 cards and steal the blinds to keep you alive till you get dealt some decent hands. You can get away with this if you have played tight, but not to many times.

R

Rakotobe

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Sorry, forgot to mention. I mostly play freerolls and low buy-ins atm for practice.

An instance of a hand that eliminated me. (10 players were still at table)

Blinds were 150/300 ante 30

* I was Small Blind with 3695 chips with Kc Qs
* The Big Blind player had 3211 chips
* player 3, 4, 5 Folds
* player 6 with 17016 chips Calls 300
* player 7, 8, 9 Folds
* The Button player had 4695 chips Calls 300

- I Raise to 1050
- Big Blind REraise to 1800
- player 6 Folds
- Button Calls 1800
- I Call 1800

= FLOP = Qc 5s 10s (pot @ 6000)

* I go All In with 1865
* Big Blind Calls
* Button Calls