One mistake leads to another mistake.
Morning all. So to start off I'm new to tournament play. I play 2nl cash on poker stars
a few hours a week but want to start playing live tournaments because damn they look like fun! So I found a live weekly tournament in my area. The rules are 30.00 buy in, you can rebuy 3 times before the break and top up at the break. I've gone twice last Saturday being my second time.
So I had been playing pretty well I thought playing solid TAG. A couple people had to rebuy at the table and another had gone out. I was sitting about 3rd or 4th in chips at the table. I was feeling pretty good at this point.
The break came and I ran out to grab a cup of coffee. When I came back I noticed everyone had chipped up (+6000) so now I was the short stack! This I would say was my first mistake. Blinds were 400/800 and I had about 10500. I folded a full round then was dealt Ad6h UTG. I raised to 3000 and got 2 callers MP2 and CO. The flop came 3cAc8h. I only had about 7500 left so I went all in. MP2 folded and CO called. We flipped and he had Kc8c. Turn was a 7 and the river was a K. So that was the end of my night.
I wouldn't usually play this hand but because the blinds were coming I thought I should because I was short.
Was that my second mistake or did I do the right thing?