I heard this quote and I want your opinion

L

LEV1ATHAN

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey I'm new to Poker and even more so tourneys. I was reading tournament forums and heard a couple times people saying "If you're only getting it in good you're calling too tight"

I would like to hear what more experienced players or even what new players think on this.

ps. I know this is vague but I'm not looking for detailed scenarios just overall mindset
Thanks, LEV

Last edited by a moderator:
Collin Moshman

Collin Moshman

Poker Expert
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
The quote is correct, particularly the slightly more general version: "If you're only getting it in good, you're playing too tight" (instead of just calling too tight). Of course, if you're getting it in bad all the time, you might be playing kind of kamikaze!

But good play requires things like:

** Shoving with weak hands because you only have 8bb in late position

** Calling river bets or pre-flop all-ins only because you're getting great odds

** bluffing because it's a great spot where your opponent will usually fold

Some of the time, these moves will inevitably get action from great hands and you'll be getting it in bad. As long as you were happy with the spot, don't worry that you had low equity (winning chances) when the money went in :)

A

angelamsmith05

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The quote is correct, particularly the slightly more general version: "If you're only getting it in good, you're playing too tight" (instead of just calling too tight). Of course, if you're getting it in bad all the time, you might be playing kind of kamikaze!

But good play requires things like:

** Shoving with weak hands because you only have 8bb in late position

** Calling river bets or pre-flop all-ins only because you're getting great odds

** Bluffing because it's a great spot where your opponent will usually fold