Does ITM Matter or only final tables?

L

LEV1ATHAN

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey, I'm new to poker and even more so for tournaments, I've only been playing tourneys for around 2 months. At first I thought the goal of tourneys was to cash at all cost, and I would try to conserve my stack at all cost to make the min cash every time. The more I played and the more the variance of tourneys hit me I realized that trying to min cash isn't the strat for a profitable career. I've only made 2 Final tables so far but the return was incredible and covered all of my bad losses. I'm just wondering what other players are thinking when they enter a tourney are you always going for first with multiple re entries, aggressive at all times play or do you try to go for consistent min cashes

Any comments are helpful

DougPkrMonsta

DougPkrMonsta

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
When I register a tournament I'm aiming for a deep run and to make the top 3 (as that is where the real money is).

Nothing shameful about limping to a min-cash occasionally or trying to get a few pay-jumps if things haven't gone your way and you are a short-stack, but definitely not the goal and not passing up profitable spots to do it.

Good luck to you! :D

M

Majari_

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I try to be semi-aggressive early on and build a decend stack and then look for blind steals as short stacks are waiting for a min cash and folding their hands. That's how you build a stack for deep run and possibly final table.

L

LEV1ATHAN

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
When I register a tournament I'm aiming for a deep run and to make the top 3 (as that is where the real money is).

Nothing shameful about limping to a min-cash occasionally or trying to get a few pay-jumps if things haven't gone your way and you are a short-stack, but definitely not the goal and not passing up profitable spots to do it.

Good luck to you! :D