See, this illustrates the flaw in rule – it is not necessarily a soft play to check the nuts when last to act!
Originally Posted by chory1414
Exactly it is softplay, which is not allowed
Rather, this is a thumb rule, because one would assume that there is no credible reason to check the nuts when last to act. However, I think we have all had times where checking the nuts is acceptable; case in point, the Darwin Moon hand. Even if it is not credible, there is no cause for any player or any tournament official to instruct a player on how to play his or her hand.
Additionally a “soft play” is a form of collusion, plain and simple. Why is it, that if you check the nuts on the river you get a penalty, but if you commit any other form of collusion (including a soft play in a different context) you are ejected immediately and without question.
That’s why it is a stupid rule. Without question it’s ridiculous. Additionally, you won’t find it in the rule book; go ahead, look. You will find a “soft play” in the rulebook and also what the penalty for a "soft play" is; I’ll give you a hint, it’s not a one round penalty.
Bottom line, it’s a stupid thumb rule, it’s not even a real rule, and is only in place so that floor men don’t actually have to sniff out collision but, instead, can simply assume that it must be present and then not administer the correct punishment anyway.